Day 14 – 1/07

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9120344014?share_unique_id=100

The day started excellent. It was dry, sun was out. Had a quick shower and off to the shop for the croissant and the pain au chocolat. Coffee, packing and charging the mobile and the GPS for the day.

Set off and ohh noooo. The bottom bracket finally decided to play up properly. Went very slowly first 10km. Trying to see if it would sort itself out like before. But this time it was serious and I could feel the movement in the pedals. Then the horrible noise started. Got to Tosse and after a turn stopped for the reality check.

Looking for the closest bike shop near me. It was at about 100 meters from where I was standing. The guys in the shop very keen to help. The mechanic tightened up the pedal cranks. He thought that would be it. Went out and noooo.  The cracking noise was still there. Went back to the shop and somehow managed to convince the mechanic that the bike is new and probably just needs tightened the bottom bracket. Okay. 10 minutes or so later and happily spent 10€ I went on the bike again. Nice and smooth. Went back to the shop thanked the guys again and again. A bit gingerly at first I started stepping up on the pedals. All good. Had a bit of a uphill that tested my legs and the bike. All okay still. At km 70 there was a stinker of the uphill. All good. I think I managed to save the bottom bracket.

In the other hand I started moving towards the Pyrenees. Maybe 30km into the route there was considerable change in the air. Then kiwi farms started. Then I saw small hills. Then I saw big mountains. Different herbs loads of oak trees. Amazing adventure. And with the bike that was running healthy. Kind of booked a camping in Navarrenx. Very nice route. Quick ride. I was setting up the camp at 15.30 after checking in at the office. Free WiFi, beautiful pitch, toilets with toilet paper. Luxury and all this for 14€. Get in.

Navarrenx – a beautiful village, medieval fortification. So pleased I decided to stay here for the night.

Tomorrow more hills, can be quite steep. Will see. Washing done, sun drying my stuff. Shopping done.

I get so lucky.

2 thoughts on “Day 14 – 1/07

Leave a comment