Day 16 – 3/07

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9132730064?share_unique_id=112

Another dry night. Bats were here last night. Clicking and whistling. Love watching them fly. The whole spectacle last a few minutes only.

Woke up at around 7.00 this morning. Quick shower, then breakfast. Got ready for the road and first went to the Carrefour to top up groceries for tonight and tomorrow morning. Trip back to the campsite and then I went into the hills.

At first there was a steeper hill, then when I got into the mountains I hit a very steady and pleasant uphill that lasted for good few kilometres. There were loads of cyclists on the road that I have chosen for this morning.

And suddenly there was a cycling race on the rout coming from the opposite direction. Some of the guys were really going fast on the downhill. I had couple of mates the few first kilometres and we had to stop to let the race through. There were motorbikes, cars, security cars, loads of people involved directing the traffic as the road for the race wasn’t closet. There was a huge amount of competitors in the race. I saw a number 1632.

At some point when the views became absolutely amazing I lost my mates as I stopped to take some photos. Stopped a few times because the scenery was breathtaking. Especially from the top of the mountain. I believe it was about 700 meters above the sea level.

Then in Neuilh I saw on the map that there was a shortcut to Pouzac. Incredible downhill on the country road. I don’t know what could go up that. I lost probably half of my brake pads trying to stay on the bike. At some point I was thinking of walking the bike downhill. Thankfully it was only a few hundred metres and then I hit a proper road.

In Pouzac I thought of getting a coffee but couldn’t find any tabac open. But there was another town just down the road Bagnères-de-Bigorre. There was a tabac there so I had my usual coffee and a coke. Then set off for Tarbes. Very quick ride on the D8. Went to the town centre, everything very modern.

From there it was getting back to Lourdes. Went with Google maps at first but then Google was sending me onto the very busy N11. I decided to go inland again. Beautiful little villages at foothills of the Pyrenees. Had couple of steep uphills there and the last bit of the road to Lourdes was like gruyère. Somehow I didn’t break anything on the bike or myself.

Back to the campsite really early today. I had the washing done by 15.15. Now chilling out. Ravioli for supper today.

Tomorrow start heading north for the last few days of the trip. There was a shower and some thunderstorms this morning on the forecast but now it has cleared. Hopefully it will stay dry.

There are a few clouds in the sky so it is a bit cooler today.

So the rain came at 17.30. It is 21.00 and no signs of it letting go. It is just relentless.

2 thoughts on “Day 16 – 3/07

  1. Sounds like you have had a brilliant trip today, with beautiful scenery and no rain showers! What fun seeing the cycling race. With your new found level of fitness, you should have been in it 😂😂. Have another good day tomorrow.

Leave a comment