Day 17 – 4/07

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9138400648?share_unique_id=115

Woke up at 4.30 this morning and couldn’t get back to sleep. So at 6.00 as the tent was pretty dry I went to the shower and when I came back the first drops were falling. Quickly moved the whole camp to the area with a roof and then calmly and slowly packed everything. The rain stopped so I had time to prepare a coffee as well.

Diet of fruit and cheese this morning. The leftovers. Had couple of peaches and couple of tomatoes and the remaining cheese.

Have planned the route across the country. So I knew there will be hills. And I had 5, 6, 7 or 8 of them today. All 7% and over.

Left the campsite in Lourdes at 8.15. it was quite chilly and there were signs of rain till kilometer 50. In some places it looked like it was raining a few moments ago. The first hill was to Limendous, then the one to Bernadets, then the one to Thèze and there were a few more but I stopped counting them.

At Thèze the sun came out from time to time and it was a bit warmer on the road.

The D944 turned out to be a great road. On the map it looks boring and straightforward but there were a few surprises with beautiful villages and up and down hill challenges.

Got to St-Sever by 13.30 only to be notified by a member of staff that the office was opening at 16.00. Okay, let’s do the shopping and then I might get to the shower and do the washing as well. If I can get inside the camp.

Went to Intermarche and back, the office was open. The very nice lady gave me even the power adapter so I can charge everything on my pitch. No extra cost. The kids still at the school so camps are relatively empty. Saying that last night in Lourdes it got pretty busy. And here now there are more and more people arriving.

Got route planned for tomorrow. Too much cycling on the busy roads but the one I am looking at runs parallel to the motorway so can be decent. Will see. Pork chop, beetroot and avocado salad for supper.

Overcast here but no signs of rain yet. It looks like it might be dry tomorrow morning as well.

Leave a comment