Day 19 – 6/07

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9151285906?share_unique_id=121

Getting closer to the end of the trip.

Today I woke up at 7.00. The sun was out and hitting the tent. I had a shower, prepared a coffee and had some fruit and a tomato for breakfast. Then when I was getting ready for the ride the man with croissant came so I had a croissant and a pain au chocolat with the coffee.

Set off early as it was going to be hot in the afternoon. I was on the road just after 8.30.

Just around the camping there was a cycling path along the canal. The path was tarmac but very uneven. I was going through and hoping that it will improve at some point. It didn’t. Yesterday I had a simple path that was just well looked after. Kind of pressed sand and cement or something like this. Like those in Richmond or Bushy park. Today different story.  It made me think as well why these canals have a path next to them. I thought that maybe they used horses to pull barges along the canal. And it is true. Before the engine it was a horse, donkey, mule or even cattle that pulled barges along the waterways.

There were a lot of cyclists going both ways with panniers. It means that the route is rather popular.

After 20 km of a boneshaker i decided to rejoin the road. Found a nice route to Damazan. Farm after farm. There was wheat, corn, large sunflowers small sunflowers, vineyards, walnut trees and something that I didn’t know, hazelnut trees. Loads of nurseries.

From Damazan I took the country road through St-Léon to Casteljaloux. There was a bit of work on this one but after the canal experience it was a joy. In Casteljaloux I decided to go onto the main road to get to Grignols. Had my first coffee and a coke in Damazan.

In Grignols I took the route through Mitton and Aillas. There was a big uphill just there. Maybe 3 km. Then it was pretty much downhill to La Réole.

Got back to the campsite at 14.30, so before the hit of the afternoon after a quick shower I went to do some shopping and then popped in to the old town. It was rather nice walking through the town in the shade of those old buildings.

Back to the camp. Another shower. Washing. Supper. Now chill.

Leave a comment