Day 20 7/07

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9157868998?share_unique_id=124

Last day of cycling today. Tomorrow getting back home.

Woke up at 7.30. Sun was up and it was getting rather warm. Quick shower and then packing of the gear. Fortunately there was no condensation on the tent so all nice and dry went into paniers.

Had my coffee with the rest of the baguette from last night and then 1 croissant.

Ready for the road I set off around 9.30. first I was going to have a short ride but as the day progressed I went for more and more.

First part through vineyards to St-Sulpice-en-Pommiers and then to St-Brice was very hard. Loads of steep uphills and didn’t seem like there were too many downhills. It was the best part of the 20km.

Then I took the D671 direction to Créon and went further to Salleboeuf and to St-Sulpice-et-Cameyrac. Then to Ambarés-et-Lagrave. There I thought the navigation will be simple to get through the bridge and get back to Libourne. I got bitten there by the sun and over hitting phone. So I turned around and went back where I came from and followed the road to Libourne. Here found the hotel okay but the reception is closed. Opens at 16.00. Few minutes of wait so catching up on the blog.

The hotel is really good. Very close to the station so just a short ride tomorrow morning. Had a burger and chips tonight. I was coming to my mind every day so finally I got one today. It is a scorcher out there today. There is an air-conditioner in the room so enjoying a bit of civilization. Glad I will be going through Paris relatively early tomorrow. Watching Poirot in French. Not getting much but it is fun.

Leave a comment