Day 21 – 8/07 Getting back

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9162232474?share_unique_id=127

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9163567603?share_unique_id=130

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9166211737?share_unique_id=133

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/9166800297?share_unique_id=136

I went to bed a bit earlier last night. Probably fallen asleep at 21.30. Woke up at 1.30 and kind of was awake till 5.00 when the alarm went off. Shower, packing last bits and preparing all the gear for easier transitions between trains and the ferry. Was out of the hotel at 5.25. 200 meters ride to train station and waiting for the back journey to start.

First train, nearly level between train and the platform, no nasty steps, little carriage next to the bike, just another cyclist there. Had a little nap between Poitiers and Paris.

Then it was the always unique experience of cycling between train stations in Paris. This time it was between Gare Montparnasse and Gare Saint-Lazare.

Apart from one hairy moment when I went kind of London style to turn left and I was in-between the bikers, gendarmerie and loads of cars. Managed somehow to get to the right side of the road and then I followed the cyclists. It was 8.30 so it was busy. Nice weather though for cycling. About 15°C. Maybe 30 minutes ride through the Place de la Concorde this time. On the way in it was ride through the Louvre.

The first train wasn’t too busy at all.

Now on the second train to Caen. Loads of kids starting the holidays. Proper busy. No empty seats on the train. Loads of different groups, kind of scout like, let the summer holidays start in France. It was always my experience here. Busy trains, busy campsites and so on. This time, maybe I got a bit wetter than usual, but the whole experience was rather relaxing. Pretty much no worries at all about the camping. Apart from Hossegor but that was my fault. I should have researched better those camping places there. Still it was only 10km extra to a great campsite.

Have to remember: first Friday of July holiday madness starts here.

Because of the teaching I was never able to come here earlier. Great. Even though I had to ask my colleagues to cover last 2 sessions and spent couple of days going through blogs and assessments, it was worth it.

Next getting to the ferry.

So the second part of the trip today was very straightforward. Got to the path by the canal in Caen. Stopped to get a sandwich and some water in Lidl. Then found nice spot with benches and tables in the shade and enjoyed the lunch. Then to the ferry. The customs were open so I got through. Had a coffee and another coffee waiting for the people to let us through to the next point. There standing for about 1 hour but in the shady motorbike/cycle kind of shed. Then onto the ferry. Had my fish and chips. Now loads of time to kill till we arrive in Portsmouth.

In the port waiting for the ferry met couple of cyclists that were coming from a short trip around France. About 5 days. We got chatting a bit and then after the crossing I cycled with them to the station and then we came together on the train. They were from Liphook so shorter trip for them. I didn’t realise how much and how many people are out at night and totally out of it.

I had a ticket to Waterloo and then ride to Paddington and finally catching the quick train from there to Southall. As I was checking the route of the train I noticed that the train was going through Surbiton. I got out and cycled back home. Extra few kilometres of night cycling but I was home one hour earlier. All unpacked, stuff airing. Tomorrow big washing day.

And this is the end of this adventure. Tired, feel it now. But would jump on the bike to do it again

One thought on “Day 21 – 8/07 Getting back

  1. Typical madness on the trains, you have my sympathies. It’s been great to follow your travels, and to learn of your experiences. Some good, some bad but with an average, 100km per day it’s been a true adventure for you and a huge experience. Well done – and time to give your knees a rest!!

Leave a comment